The 2013 Willie M Medal: Round 7

Filed in NRL, Willie M by on April 29, 2013

While Ben Roberts is firmly in the mix to win back-to-back Willie M Medals, Wests Tigers utility Tim Moltzen won’t be joining him. Moltzen ruptured his ACL in the Tigers’ loss to the Broncos on Saturday night. He collected the three Willie M votes and has finished 2013 on five votes.

Two players to watch – both who made moves this week – are Warriors centre Konrad Hurrell and Titans outside back Steve Michaels. Hurrell was almost as bad as the refereeing on Thursday night and is now tied for fifth in the count while another Michaels pissweak effort for the Titans when the club was most in need. The only thing stopping him from another high finish will be the prevalence of Queensland Cup in his future.

Sydney Roosters v St George Illawarra
3-Tyson Frizell (Dra)
2-Jamie Soward (Dra)
1-Matt Cooper (Dra)
Judge: Nick Tedeschi

Melbourne v New Zealand
3-Konrad Hurrell (War)
2-Mahe Fonua (Mel)
1-Jason Ryles (Mel)
Judge: Rohan Kendall

Manly v South Sydney
3-Richie Fa’aoso (Man)
2-Jason King (Man)
1-Roy Asotasi (Sou)
Judge: Nick Tedeschi

North Queensland v Canberra
3-Jason Croker (Can)
2-Terry Campese (Can)
1-Kalifa Faifai-Loa (Can)
Judge: Brett Oaten (Fire Up)

Wests Tigers v Brisbane
3-Tim Moltzen (Tig)
2-Eddy Pettybourne (Tig)
1-Ben Hunt (Bri)
Judge: Nick Tedeschi

Gold Coast v Newcastle
3-Steve Michaels (GC)
2-Jarrod Mullen (New)
1-Jamal Idris (GC)
Judge: Alex Madge

Cronulla v Canterbury
3-Nathan Stapleton (Cro)
2-Jonathan Wright (Cro)
1-Ben Pomeroy (Cro)
Judge: Nick Tedeschi

Penrith v Parramatta
3-Ben Smith (Par)
2-Cheyse Blair (Par)
1-Ben Roberts (Par)
Judge: Nick Tedeschi

14: Tony Williams (Bul)
9: Kevin Locke (War), Ben Roberts (Par)
8: Sandor Earl (Can)
7: Konrad Hurrell (War), Krisnan Inu (Bul), Peter Wallace (Bri)
6: Shaun Kenny-Dowall (Roo), Thomas Leuluai (War), Steve Michaels (GC), David Simmons (Pen)

Comments (2)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. Anonymous says:

    Can coaches get votes too? Ricky Stuart deserves most of the blame for Parramatta’s poor year. Making Hayne and Maitua captains had been a massive mistake. They are two of the worst leaders in Nrl and it is being reflected in the attitude of Parramatta’s players.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Roy Asotasi was lucky not to get more. Was he saved by the fact that his laziness resulted in the obstruction ruling against a try?

    Humble was playing like he was afraid to touch the ball. Can a lack of actual involvement result in votes, or does it require people playing poorly?

    (Faifai-Loa plays for the Cowboys)