The 2014 Willie M Medal: Round 7

Filed in NRL, Willie M by on April 22, 2014

The Sharks’ lamentable start to 2014 is summarized quite neatly by the fact that they provide four of the top 10 on the Willie M Medal leaderboard through seven rounds. However Blake Ayshford, he of the dubious speed and even more dubious hands, has lost his spot atop the medal count. That honour now falls to Joey Leilua of the Knights. Very few players have the ‘rocks or diamonds’ volatility of Leilua. His best is enough to tear through opposition defences, as evident in his performances against the Sharks and Raiders, but he also has 14 errors, eight penalties conceded and countless poor decisions in both attack and defence to his name after just seven rounds.

South Sydney v Canterbury

3 – Sam Perrett (Bul)

2 – Bryson Goodwin (Bul)

1– Dale Finucane (Bul)
Judge: Rohan Kendall

Newcastle v Brisbane
3- Willie Mason (New)
2- Joey Leilua (New)
1- Kurt Gidley (New)
Judge: Will Evans

Manly v North Queensland
3 – Peta Hiku (Man)
2 –  Robert Lui (Cow)
1 –  Scott Bolton (Cow)
Judge: Cliff Bingham

St George-Illawarra v New Zealand
3 – Dominque Peyroux (War)
2 – Dane Nielsen (War)
1 – Sam Rapira (War)
Judge: Cliff Bingham

Cronulla v Sydney Roosters
3 – Todd Carney (Cro)
2 – Mitch Aubusson (Roo)
1 – Blake Ayshford (Cro)
Judge: Brett Oaten

Canberra v Melbourne
3 – Jack Wighton (Can)
2 – Justin O’Neill (Mel)
1 – Josh McCrone (Can)
Judge: Matt Tedeschi

Parramatta v Wests Tigers
3 – Semi Radradra (Par)
2 – Chris Sandow (Par)
1 – Curtis Rowe (Tig)
Judge: Matt Fisk

Penrith v Gold Coast
3 –  David Mead (GC)
2 –  James Segeyaro (Pen)
1 –  Aidan Sezer (GC)
Judge: Cliff Bingham


11: Joey Leilua (New)

10: Blake Ayshford (Cro)

8: Jack Wighton (Can)

7: James Maloney (Roo), Manu Vatuvei (War)

6: Daniel Holdsworth (Cro), Jonathan Wright (Cro), Ben Barba (Bri), Todd Carney (Cro), Peta Hiku (Man)

5: Bill Tupou (Can), Sam Burgess (Sou), Kyle Feldt (Cow), Ben Hampton (Mel), Simon Mannering (War), Lote Tuqiri (Sou), Akuila Uate (New), Tariq Sims (Cow), Robert Lui (Cow), David Mead (GC)

4: Will Chambers (Mel), Mahe Fonua (Mel), Dane Gagai (New), Anthony Minichiello (Roo), Sonny Bill Williams (Roo), Daniel Vidot (Bri), Kenny Edwards (Par), Josh Dugan (Dra), Dane Nielsen (War), James Segeyaro (Pen)

Comments (5)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. Davey G says:

    How atrocious and uninterested was Corey Norman for Parramatta against the Cowboys? Not one option he took – whether he passed, kicked or whatever – looked comfortable or was above F- level. I reckon it wouldn’t hurt to chuck Luke Kelly at 6 for a week or two to let him rediscover his game for Wenty.

  2. Buster Bluth says:

    Mr Oaten

    This is now the second successive week that Anthony Minichiello has polled zero points but been the worst player on the field. What gives? By my ratings he should be on 14 points on this table and a clear leader. Mitch Aunbusson? What game were you watching? He made 29 tackles, missing one and had three off loads and was more than an adequate replacement for Kenny-Dowall at right centre. Even though the media loves Minichiello and can’t see just how poor a player he has become, it doesn’t mean judges like you should be turning a blind eye to his ongoing difficulties adjusting to life as a has-been footballer. Shame on you Mr Oaten – you and you medal have lost all credibility I’m afraid.

  3. Brett says:

    Jason you are correct – he was diabolical

  4. Cynical Mick says:

    Can someone explain to me how Albert Kelly hasn’t already wrapped up the 2014 Wilie M? Having him steer your side around the paddock is akin to letting a monkey into the cockpit of a 747.

  5. Jason says:

    Gentlemen If Joseph Paulo wasn’t the Worst on Ground for the EELS IM NOT HERE.

    He was Abysmal and Reminds me a Lot of Feliti Mateo ..He will cost your more Games than He WINS !