The 2014 Willie M Medal: Round 8

Filed in NRL, Willie M by on April 29, 2014

While top three spots on the 2014 Willie M Medal leaderboard remained unchanged in Round 8, Ben Barba and Bill Tupou have edged a little closer to having their name etched in both infamy and ignominy. Barba’s mediocrity has been spread fairly evenly across the 2014 season to date, but Tupou has roared into contention after a season-ending injury to Edrick Lee vaulted him from his rightful place (New South Wales Cup) to first grade. His four appearances in first grade this season have netted more tackles missed (eight) than made (seven), five errors, two penalties conceded and a mere one line break. Surely the Raiders, a club with a penchant in recent years for unearthing outside backs from their under 20s squad, can find someone better than Bill to stand out on the flank?

St George-Illawarra v Sydney Roosters  

3 – Michael Witt (Dra)

2 – Joel Thompson (Dra)

1– Josh Dugan (Dra)
Judge: Brett Oaten

Melbourne v New Zealand
3 – Billy Slater (Mel)
2 – Bryan Norrie (Mel)
1 –  Nathan Friend (War)
Judge: Will Evans

Brisbane v South Sydney
3 – Dale Copley (Bri)
2 –  Ben Te’o (Sou)
1 –  Ben Barba (Bri)
Judge: Cliff Bingham

Cronulla v Penrith
3 – Adam Docker (Pen)
2 – Jamie Soward (Pen)
1 – Sam Tagataese (Cro)
Judge: Cliff Bingham

North Queensland v Parramatta
3 – Ken Sio (Par)
2 – David Gower (Par)
1 – Matthew Wright (Cow)
Judge: Cliff Bingham

Canterbury v Newcastle
3 – Tyrone Roberts (New)
2 – Jarrod Mullen (New)
1 – Dale Finucane (Bul)
Judge: Cliff Bingham

Manly v Canberra
3 – Anthony Milford (Can)
2 – Bill Tupou (Can)
1 – Josh McCrone (Can)
Judge: Matt Tedeschi

Wests Tigers v Gold Coast
3 –  Kurtis Rowe (Tig)
2 –  Braith Anasta (Tig)
1 –  Luke Brooks (Tig)
Judge: Matt Fisk


11: Joey Leilua (New)

10: Blake Ayshford (Cro)

8: Jack Wighton (Can)

7: James Maloney (Roo), Manu Vatuvei (War), Bill Tupou (Can), Ben Barba (Bri)

6: Daniel Holdsworth (Cro), Jonathan Wright (Cro), Todd Carney (Cro), Peta Hiku (Man)

5: Sam Burgess (Sou), Kyle Feldt (Cow), Ben Hampton (Mel), Simon Mannering (War), Lote Tuqiri (Sou), Akuila Uate (New), Tariq Sims (Cow), Robert Lui (Cow), David Mead (GC), Adam Docker (Pen), Jamie Soward (Pen)

4: Will Chambers (Mel), Mahe Fonua (Mel), Dane Gagai (New), Anthony Minichiello (Roo), Sonny Bill Williams (Roo), Daniel Vidot (Bri), Kenny Edwards (Par), Josh Dugan (Dra), Dane Nielsen (War), James Segeyaro (Pen), Kurtis Rowe (Tig), Braith Anasta (Tig)

Comments are closed.