The 2014 Willie M Medal: Round 3

Filed in NRL, Willie M by on March 24, 2014


Cronulla centre Jonathan Wright has moved to the top of the Willie M Medal leaderboard and with his long history of being, well, terrible, he seems certain to be there for a while yet. It is unclear what Wright actually brings to the table. He is an out-and-out defensive liability, a swinging gate in defence. He is slow. He is not a strong runner. With the Sharks short on trops, Jono Wright might be in line for a very special award later in the year.

Brisbane v Sydney Roosters
3-Anthony Minichiello (Roo)
2-Jack Reed (Bri)
1-Martin Kennedy (Bri)
Judge: Brett Oaten

Wests Tigers v South Sydney
3-Sam Burgess (Sou)
2-Joe Picker (Sou)
1-George Burgess (Sou)
Judge: Nick Tedeschi

Penrith v Canterbury
3-Drury Low (Bul)
2-Adam Docker (Pen)
1-Michael Ennis (Bul)
Judge: Nick Tedeschi

Cronulla v St George Illawarra
3-Jonathan Wright (Cro)
2-Blake Ayshford (Cro)
1-Siosaia Vave (Cro)
Judge: Nathan Boss

North Queensland v New Zealand
3-Michael Morgan (NQ)
2-Robert Lui (NQ)
1-Scott Bolton (NQ)
Judge: Cliff Bingham

Manly v Parramatta
3-David Williams (Man)
2-Joseph Paulo (Par)
1-Vai Toutai (Par)
Judge: Nick Tedeschi

Canberra v Gold Coast
3-Matt McIllwrick (Can)
2-Jack Wighton (Can)
1-Jarrad Kennedy (Can)
Judge: Matt Tedeschi

Melbourne v Newcastle
3-Matt Minto (New)
2-Akuila Uate (New)
1-Kurt Gidley (New)
Judge: Nick Tedeschi

6: Joey Leilua (New), Jono Wright (Cro)
5: Sam Burgess (Sou), Simon Mannering (War), Jack Wighton (Can)
4: Blake Ayshford (Cro), Dane Gagai (New), Daniel Holdsworth (Cro), Anthony Minichiello (Roo)

Comments are closed.